Your motorcycle Compulsory Basic Training (CBT) is a training course designed to teach a complete novice the basic skills required, to ride safely on the road. CBT training is not a test and cannot be failed. All learner motorcyclists and moped riders must satisfactorily complete CBT before riding on the road.

The course is made up of 5 elements which are completed in order. You will need to complete each element in turn and will not move on to the next until the instructor is satisfied you have understood what has been taught.

There is an in-depth discussion of the 5 elements of CBT here. But read on for a quick overview of what to expect.

Element A

Firstly an eyesight test , then a general introduction to the aims of compulsory basic training and a safety clothing and helmet discussion.

Element B

Next an introduction to the controls on your motorcycle. Some guidance on basic safety checks, and then you will be taught how to wheel the bike and use the stand

Element C

This is where you finally start learning to ride, you will be in a controlled and safe off-road area and will practice:

  • Riding in a straight line
  • Stopping smoothly
  • Riding slowly
  • Changing gear
  • Correct observations
  • Riding a figure of eight
  • Emergency stops
  • U-turns
  • Left and right turns

Element D

General session covering how to ride safely and be seen by other road users. You will learn about the highway code and the rules of the road. In addition you will be taught the correct road positioning  This section generally takes about 45 minutes.

Element E

Finally! You are on the road. You will be in radio contact with your instructor and will be expected to demonstrate the skills learned in the previous elements. You will be taken on a variety of different roads and will need to show you can deal with a variety of road and traffic conditions safely.

That’s it!

If your instructor is happy you have completed all the elements to a competent level you will be issued a DL196 certificate.